AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Narrator: Jennifer Ikeda
Published: May 2016
Genre: YA Fantasy
Rating: ★★★

The Book
Okay so I finished it. Partially due to prodding from my friends, partially due to me listening to Maas’ ToG series and finding myself enjoying them again, and partially due to me feeling like there was something I was missing out on when it came to this book.

And this is one of those books where what I have to say is more important than my rating.

I was wrong about this book, my own 100-page rule defeating me. Around page 150 is where this book really picks up, which, isn’t exactly a good thing; But I will say if you can make it past that, stomach the cringe worthy sentences and the existence of Tamlin as a character, then the rest will probably prove rather entertaining.

And maybe it’s the way I took in this particular book. I chose to listen to the audio rather than attempt to lug around the 700 page monster in my bag. Listening to it on commutes to work and while I played my newest obsession, Stardew Valley. Maybe it’s because I listened that I didn’t focus on the cringe worthy paragraphs, the really awkward sex scenes, the way clothing was over described, how many characters ‘loosed’ a breath (seriously, even in ToG. Maas loves ‘loosing’ things).

These things still bothered me of course, but in the audio they were there and gone, and I was onto the next part of the story.

The characters proved interesting, though I’m curious if I totally forgot everything about Tamlin, or if Maas just retconned him to basically be a meninist, regardless, he’s the worst. Feyre is less annoying, as is Rhys, and their group of friends prove interesting enough.

The mythology also get’s greatly expanded upon here, which I really appreciated as well.

Other than that the story was fairly weak, really only picking up in the final hour or two of the audio narration, with a decent cliffhanger that actually has me wanting to read book three. I’ll give Maas credit where it’s due, she can write a hell of an ending.

Overall, was this amazing? No. It really wasn’t. It was a fun, interesting read that kept me entertaining for the 12 plus hours I listened to it (2.5x’s speed baby!) Was it better than the first? Certainly. The bar for book 1 was so low that even if this had been complete garbage I’m sure it would’ve been better.

The Audio
The audio isn’t particularly special. Jennifer Ikeda does a fine job with the narration. There isn’t any music or sound-effects that add or detract from the overall experience.

But like I’ve said before, audiobooks seem to be the only way I can read Maas books. I can’t focus on some of the more terrible writing, metaphors, or similes. And while everyone seems to be curious about the sex scenes, they’re nothing special. Maybe that’s just me though? I mean I don’t care about any sex in any books like this so…

I’m sure that’s me. People who are interested in the sex scenes will probably find something more enjoyable here.

Leave a Reply

