REVIEW: More Happy Than Not

Title: More Happy Than Not
Author: Adam Silvera
Published: June 2015
Genre: Speculative Fiction/LGBTQA+
Rating: ★★★★★

BELOW ARE MY THOUGHTS IMMEDIATELY AFTER READING 
You can’t end a goddamned book like that… you just can’t…..

Don’t let the smiley face on the cover fool you, this book isn’t fucking happy. It tricks you into thinking it is, but it isn’t. It’ll tear out your heart and soul into a million little pieces because you dared to ever like these characters.

BELOW ARE MY THOUGHTS AFTER PROCESSING THIS HEART BREAKING NOVEL 

I honestly had no clue what to expect from this book. Memory-loss, LGBTQA+ themes and characters, probably some emotional stuff. And in fact, this book has and discusses all of those things, but that’s just on the surface level.

At it’s core, this is a book about losing people, blaming yourself, wanting to forget, and why forgetting isn’t always a good thing, falling in and out of love with the right and wrong people, the truth in realizing your parents might not be good people, and so many more things I don’t think I could cover in the 20,000 or so characters Goodreads will let me. Mostly because I don’t think I could do it justice…

This book is heart-breaking. Honestly. I was sitting at work while I read those last few fucking relentless pages, and I was struggling not to openly weep at the things happening. Even now, typing up this review, I’m trying not to tear up because it’s just so goddamn sad.

Adam Silvera has cursed me in writing this book, because I doubt I’ll ever forget it, and I doubt that other books will live up to the same feelings and thoughts this one gave me. I think the biggest compliment I can give this book is that it’ll make you think about a lot of things. Love, life, your friends and family. It’ll spark thoughts in you.

This book discusses many topics. Most prominent of which is suicide. If you, or anyone who know is considering suicide, please call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1 (800) 273-8255

For those of you with anxiety regarding things like phone calls, please use the chat lines HERE.

 

Leave a Reply

